Ishan Kishan escapes suspension over fake appeal as match referee leaves warning for India’s wicketkeeper batter

 Ishan Kishan escapes suspension over fake appeal as match referee leaves warning for India’s wicketkeeper batter

Ishan Kishan (Image Credit: Twitter)

India wicketkeeper batter Ishan Kishan has escaped four ODI games suspension post fake dismissal against New Zealand. In the first ODI against the Kiwis, the wicketkeeper batter attempted a fake hit-wicket against Tom Latham. The incident happened in the second innings of the first ODI. It is assumed that Kishan was playing a prank on Latham for Hardik Pandya’s dismissal.

Meanwhile, it is now reported by the Kiwi media that the former India U19 skipper has escaped punishment. As per the rules “When assessing the seriousness of the breach, consideration should be given to whether the conduct was deliberate, reckless and/or negligent on the part of the relevant player.” The code of conduct according to the World Cricket Council says that it a Level Three offense.

On-field umpires didn’t complain against Ishan Kishan

Match referee, Javagal Srinath has reportedly said that the on-field umpires for the game, Anil Chaudhary and Nitin Menon didn’t complain against Kishan. Notably, Srinath spoke to Kishan as well as Indian captain Rohit Sharma and coach Rahul Dravid over the matter. In the series, Kishan hasn’t been able to score too many runs. In the first game, the left-hander could only score five runs.

On the other hand, Kishan didn’t have enough runs to score as the team won the game by eight wickets. In the upcoming third ODI, the Jharkhand player would love to get some runs under his belt. After this, both India and New Zealand will play the three-match T20I series. In the shortest format, Ishan opens the batting for the Men In Blue.

Steven

Related post