On this day in 2013, MS Dhoni achieved a historic feat in World Cricket

 On this day in 2013, MS Dhoni achieved a historic feat in World Cricket

MS Dhoni (Image Source: Twitter)

23 June 2013 was a memorable day for the Indian Cricket as India defeated England in the Champions Trophy final. MS Dhoni-led India won this trophy in a rain-threaded encounter as India managed to defeat England by five runs.

After becoming the joint-winner of this tournament with Sri Lanka in 2002 under Saurav Ganguly’s captaincy, It was India’s another major victory in their history. Mahendra Singh Dhoni won both the World Cup and Champions Trophy in the 50-over format in 2011, and 2013 respectively.

Remembering that say, the Indian Cricket Board also shared an image with a heart-touching quote. It said: “#OnThisDay in 2013, #TeamIndia, led by @msdhoni, beat host England to lift the ICC Champions Trophy. Dhoni became the first Captain (in Men’s cricket) to win all three ICC trophies in limited-overs cricket.”

Here is the post:


Speaking about Dhoni as the captain of India, he led India 200 times in the ODI format where he managed 110 wins between the timeline of 2007 to 2018. He also guided India in winning the 2011 Cricket World Cup in India as it was India’s World Cup triumph after 28 years. Regarding this match only, the final was reduced to 20 overs only due to heavy rain. England won the toss and elected to field first.

While batting first, India managed to score only 129 runs by losing seven wickets. Virat Kohli (43 runs) and Ravindra Jadeja (33* runs) were the main players with contributions.

In reply, English batters failed to chase it down due to excellent bowling performance from the Indian bowlers. Jadeja, Ashwin, and Ishant Sharma all chipped in with two wickets each as England was restricted to only 124 runs. Ravindra Jadeja was given the award for the player of the match for his all-round show.

This win was huge for Indian Cricket as India started the tournament after having a big transition in their ODI setup. All young players stepped up and thus, MS Dhoni guided his troops to the glory in 2013. Indian opener, Shikhar Dhawan was the player of the tournament.


Related post

1 Comment

Comments are closed.