Sabbhineni Meghana To Join India Women’s Team Ahead Of The CWG 2022 Opener

 Sabbhineni Meghana To Join India Women’s Team Ahead Of The CWG 2022 Opener

Sabbhineni Meghana and India Women’s Team (Image Source: Twitter)

Commonwealth Games 2022 is all set to begin on 28 July in Birmingham, England. However, this year Women’s T20 tournament is going to happen in this mega event. India’s women’s team will kick off that event by facing Australia. However, India dealt with a major blow as Sabbhineni Meghana and Pooja Vastrakar got tested Covid-19 positive. 

As a result, they stayed back in Bangalore to serve the quarantine period. However, good news came up on 28 July 2022. Sabbhineni Meghana is most likely to be available for the Australia game. As per reports, she recovered from Covid-19 on Wednesday, 27 July 2022. Thus, she will be on the first available flight to join the squad in the UK.

India will begin their CWG Campaign against Australia on 29 July 2022 at Edgbaston

Her arrival can be a major boost to the India squad ahead of the CWG opener. However, Pooja Vasstrakar is yet to get recovered from Covid-19. She is still under the quarantine period. She will go through all mandatory tests again on Saturday, 30 July 2022.

Pooja can fly out to the UK on Sunday if she passes two Covid tests and a mandatory fitness test. It can make her available for India for the last game against Barbados women. For the first time, women’s cricket is going to take place in this mega event. All the matches are going to be played in the T20I format. 

Hence, India will look to give their best to bring glory to the country by winning a medal. India is in Group A along with Australia, Pakistan, and Barbados. After facing Australia on 29 July, India will take on Pakistan on 31 July. Then, they will face Barbados women on 3 August. 

Here is the full squad of Team India for the Commonwealth Games 2022:

Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Shafali Verma, S Meghana, Taniya Sapna Bhatia (WK), Yastika Bhatia (WK), Deepti Sharma, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Jemimah Rodrigues, Radha Yadav, Harleen Deol, Sneh Rana

Standby: Richa Ghosh, Poonam Yadav, Simran Dil Bahadur


Related post