Schedule for England’s historic tour of Pakistan announced

 Schedule for England’s historic tour of Pakistan announced

England Cricket Team, Pakistan Cricket Team (Image Credit: Twitter)

The schedule of the much anticipated England tour of Pakistan has been announced. The series holds great significance for Pakistan fans and the cricket board. After all, the fans were upset as the Pakistan Cricket Board had to endure losses after the ECB had decided not to play the series in the Asian country last year. However, this year, the tour has been confirmed.

As many as seven T20Is will be played between the two teams in September this year. Notably, this is the first leg of England’s tour of Pakistan. After the seven-match series, both teams will head to Australia for the 20-20 World Cup in October. After the showpiece event, both teams will return to Pakistan to play a three-match Test series in December.

Meanwhile, Zakir Khan, PCB Director International Cricket said that they are absolutely delighted to host the Three Lions for the seven T20Is in Karachi and Lahore. He added that the English team is one of the top-ranked teams, and the T20I series will not only provide the preparations for the World Cup but also set the tone for the two-part series.

“We are absolutely delighted to confirm hosting England for seven T20Is in Karachi and Lahore as a curtain-raiser to a busy, entertaining and exciting season of home internationals.

“England is one of the top-ranked T20I teams and them playing the shortest format in the lead up to the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Pakistan will not only help the team management to finalize their preparations but will also set the tone for December’s three-Test series,” Khan said.

Talking about the series, the first four games will be played in Karachi while the last three will be played in Lahore. The series will start on September 20 and conclude on October 2.


1st T20I: 20 September, Karachi

2nd T20I: 22 September, Karachi

3rd T20I: 23 September, Karachi

4th T20I: 25 September, Karachi

5th T20I: 28 September, Lahore

6th T20I: 30 September, Lahore

7th T20I: 2 October, Lahore


Related post