‘Still looks fitter than Rohit Sharma’- Fans can’t keep calm as MS Dhoni spotted practicing in nets ahead of Indian T20 League

 ‘Still looks fitter than Rohit Sharma’- Fans can’t keep calm as MS Dhoni spotted practicing in nets ahead of Indian T20 League

MS Dhoni (Image Credit: Twitter)

Former India skipper MS Dhoni has been spotted batting in the nets with the Indian T20 League 2023 only a few months away. He has been leading the Chennai side from 2008 to 2015 and then from 2018 to 2022. In the years 2016 and 2017, the team was suspended after the spot-fixing and betting scandal in 2013. In 2018, the team returned to the tournament and won their third title.

The last time they won the Indian T20 League titles was in seasons 2010 and 2011. Meanwhile, two years after winning their third title, the team finished seventh for the first time in history. Over the years, they always qualified for the playoffs every time they played before 2020. At this stage, it looked like the team would go for an overhaul and Dhoni might have played his last.

However, despite this, the team made minimal changes in 2021 and won their fourth title under the wicketkeeper batter’s leadership. Last year, the Ranchi player decided to step down from captaincy. However, he had to take it back after the team could only win two out of eight games. However, the team’s fate of not qualifying for the playoffs was pretty much decided before Dhoni could take over.

Meanwhile, this year, he would love to finish on a high as he has announced his retirement from the league. He is already retired from international cricket.

Indian T20 League 2023 might be MS Dhoni’s last

A few months back, the right-hander indicated that the upcoming 16th season of the cash-rich league might be his last. He expressed his desire to play his last game in front of the Chennai crowd. With the league returning to its home and away format, the team will get to play nine home games as 10 teams will participate in the tournament.

Last year, two more teams, Lucknow and Gujarat were added to the mix. The Ahmedabad-based side won the title, beating Rajasthan in the final.

This is how Twitter reacted







Related post