The Indian Cricket Board Named A 16-Man Squad For The ODI Series Against West Indies

 The Indian Cricket Board Named A 16-Man Squad For The ODI Series Against West Indies

West Indies vs India (Image Source: Twitter)

After losing the one-off Test match against England on 5 July 2022, India is scheduled to play a three-match T20I and a three-match ODI series against them in the coming weeks. However, after the conclusion of this limited over series, India will travel to West Indies for another ODI and T20I series.

Starting from 22 July 2022, India will play three ODIs, and then, five T20Is will be played between them. However, for this tour, it was reported that senior players like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and Jasprit Bumrah will be rested. Now, on 6 July 2022, the Indian Cricket Board announced a 16-man squad for the three-match ODI series against the Caribbeans.

Here are the tweets shared by the Indian Cricket Board:

Shikhar Dhawan and Ravindra Jadeja have been appointed as captain and vice-captain respectively

Speaking about the squad, Shikhar Dhawan has been appointed as the captain while Ravindra Jadeja will be his deputy. As expected, all big names like Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, and Jasprit Bumrah have been rested for the tour. 

Interestingly, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Shubman Gill have been added to the squad. Sanju Samson has been added as a wicketkeeper batter option along with Ishan Kishan. For the spinning department, Indian selectors have opted for Yuzvendra Chahal and Axar Patel. Axar will look to use this opportunity to strengthen his case for the upcoming World cup in 2023.

India has focused on a young pace unit where Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, and Arshdeep Singh have been included. Arshdeep is also in the ODI squad for the England series. Hence, this young pacer will have another chance to show his potential in West Indies. As per the middle-order batting concern, India has shown faith in Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, and Shreyas Iyer.         

Here is the full squad for the ODIs:

Shikhar Dhawan (C), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Arshdeep Singh


Related post