Top Five Run Scorers of Indian T20 League 2008 And Where Are They Now?

 Top Five Run Scorers of Indian T20 League 2008 And Where Are They Now?

Gautam Gambhir (Photo by INDRANIL MUKHERJEE/AFP/GettyImages)

Sanath Jayasuriya

The former Sri Lanka skipper Sanath Jayasuriya scored 514 runs, the highest for Mumbai and third-highest overall. In the next two seasons, he failed badly and was subsequently never considered again. In 2011, he announced his retirement from all forms of the game. After retirement, he became a politician and played for Sri Lanka in the Road Safety World Series early last year.

  Shane Watson

The former Australia all-rounder was part of the ITL winning Rajasthan in 2008. He amassed 472 runs in the season, which proved to be vital for the team. He was the highest run-getter for the team. After missing the 2009 season and performing moderately in the next three seasons, Watson scored 543 runs for the side in 2013. The team went on to qualify for the playoffs. He kept playing for the side till 2015. Later that year, the team was suspended and he found another home in Bangalore and played for the team till 2017. In 2018, he was signed by Chennai and he ended his playing career with the franchise after the 2020 season. He is currently working as a cricket expert.

 Graeme Smith

Another batter from Rajasthan became one of the highest run-getters. The left-hander amassed 441 runs for the team. He played for the team till 2010. However, he couldn’t replicate the success in the next two seasons as he could only muster a little more than 300 runs combined. In 2011, he played his last ITL game for now-defunct Pune. In 2014, he retired from all forms of cricket and currently works as the director of cricket in Cricket South Africa.


Related post