Virat Kohli Is Reported To Be Rested Again From A Full-Strength Squad For West Indies T20Is

 Virat Kohli Is Reported To Be Rested Again From A Full-Strength Squad For West Indies T20Is

Virat Kohli and Team India (Image Source: Twitter)

After the one-off Test match, India is kicking off a three-match T20I series against England from 7 July 2022. Rohit Sharma will be back in action as the leader of the group while senior players like Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah will be rested for the first T20I. they will be back in action for the second and third T20I matches.

After this T20I series, India is scheduled to play a three-match ODI series also against England. After that, India will visit West Indies to play a three-match ODI and a five-match T20I series. For that ODI series, a 16-man squad was announced on 6 July 2022. Senior players like Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli were given rest as a full-strength T20I squad is expected to be announced after the completion of the third T20I against England.

Virat Kohli is believed to have requested rest from the Board

However, it is now being considered that a full-strength T20I squad will be there for the five-match T20I series against West Indies. But, as per Cricbuzz reports, Virat Kohli will not be a part of that series again as he has already requested the Indian cricket Board for rest.

Apart from it, the Indian selectors can choose Ravichandran Ashwin for this series as he has not been part of the white-ball team for over seven months now. Ahead of the mega event in Australia later this year, it will be a big series for Ashwin if he gets a chance finally.

However, Kohli’s form, across all the formats, has been a major concern for the team, and thus, his decision of taking a rest from this tour might influence Indian selectors to try other available options. Speaking of the ODI squad, Shikhar Dhawan will lead while Ravindra Jadeja will be his deputy in that three-match series.

India’s ODI squad vs WI:

Shikhar Dhawan (C), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Arshdeep Singh


Related post