Watch: Mohammad Nawaz’s refusal for DRS despite huge inside edge leaves fans confused

 Watch: Mohammad Nawaz’s refusal for DRS despite huge inside edge leaves fans confused

Mohammad Nawaz (source: Twitter)

Fans were perplexed after Pakistan all-rounder Mohammad Nawaz refused to review an LBW decision that went against him despite inside-edging the ball onto his pads. Pakistan was reduced to 43/4 in a do-or-die 20-20 World Cup game against South Africa at the Sydney Cricket Ground before Nawaz and Iftikhar Ahmed forged a fifty-plus partnership to stabilize the innings, but the stand ended when Nawaz was given out LBW for 28 off 22 balls.

There was a lot of confusion about the wicket, as it turned out. Nawaz attempted to sweep the ball against Tabraiz Shamsi and then took off for the run, knowing he would survive. The single was turned down by Iftikhar from the non-striker’s end midway through the run, and by the time Nawaz could get back into the crease, it was too late as Lungi Ngidi and Quinton de Kock caused a runout.

The batter walked back to the dugout. The all-rounder may have avoided the DRS because he believed that even if he had gotten an inside edge, he would be run out. As a result, the effort was not worthwhile, and Pakistan could have been a review down.

The rules, however, state that once the umpire has rendered his decision, anything that occurs after that point is deemed null and void. In this case, the ball was dead once the umpire’s finger is raised, and the direct hit occurred only after he was called out on the field. Nawaz, perhaps unaware of the exact rule, chose not to go upstairs, costing Pakistan the wicket.

Here is Mohammad Nawaz’s video

“This is bit of confusion for us. If we have a look at this, there definitely seems to be a bottom edge. There is the confirmation (as the UltraEdge shows a spike on the screen simultaneously). He charges off for the single, then turns around. The ball hits the stumps and he looks at his partner. Shouts at him. He even looks at the umpire to see that he has been given out LBW because if he was, he could have sent it upstairs,” former Australia all-rounder Shane Watson said on air, describing the events perfectly.

Bethive Staff

Related post