Watch: Neeraj Chopra has a nasty slip on a wet runway at Kuortane Games

 Watch: Neeraj Chopra has a nasty slip on a wet runway at Kuortane Games

Neeraj Chopra (Image Source: Twitter)

India’s Olympic Gold-medalist Neeraj Chopra bagged another gold medal at the Kuortane Games 2022 after his throw of 86.69 meters. It came in his first attempt and that was enough to win the gold medal.

However, in one of his later attempts, he had a nasty slip on a wet runway. But, as of now, he escaped any serious injury. No official words have come so far from him or his team members. Earlier at the Paavo Nurmi Games in Turku, he broke the National record by throwing 89.30 meters. The video of that nasty slip circulated over the social media platform.

Here it is shared on Twitter:

Neeraj did not take any more attempts after the third one on which he slipped

Neeraj did not even try for another attempt after that slip as he is scheduled to participate in many events like the World Athletics Championships, Commonwealth Games, and the Asian Games in the coming days.

Therefore, precautionary measures had been considered to avoid any serious injury ahead of those tournaments. Speaking of this event, Trinidad and Tobago’s Keshorn Walcott came very close to him with a throw of 86.64 meters. But, he grabbed the second spot by winning a silver medal while World Champion Anderson Peters settled for a bronze medal with a throw of 84.75 meters. In this season, Anderson already crossed the 90-meter mark. Along with all these, India had another participant, named Sandeep Chaudhury who eighth with his best throw of 60.35 meters.

Speaking of the upcoming Commonwealth Games, the Athletics Federation of India had chosen Neeraj Chopra to lead the 37-member athletics squad for this event. 

Athletics Squad for Commonwealth Games 2022

Men: Avinash Sable (3000m Steeplechase); Nitender Rawat (Marathon); M Sreeshankar and Muhammed Anees Yahiya (Long Jump); Abdulla Aboobacker, Praveen Chithravel, and Eldhose Paul (Triple Jump); Tajinderpal Singh Toor (Shot Put); Neeraj Chopra, DP Manu and Rohit Yadav (Javelin Throw); Sandeep Kumar and Amit Khatri (Race Walking); Amoj Jacob, Noah Nirmal Tom, Arokia Rajiv, Muhammed Ajmal, Naganathan Pandi and Rajesh Ramesh (4x400m Relay).

Women: S Dhanalakshmi (100m and 4x100m relay); Jyothi Yarraji (100mHurdles); Aishwarya B (Long Jump and Triple Jump) and Ancy Sojan (Long Jump); Manpreet Kaur (Shot Put); Navjeet Kaur Dhillon and Seema Antil Punia (Discus Throw); Annu Rani and Shilpa Rani (Javelin Throw); Manju Bala Singh and Sarita Romit Singh (Hammer Throw); Bhawna Jat and Priyanka Goswami (Race Walking); Hima Das, Dutee Chand, Srabani Nanda, MV Jilna and NS Simi (4x100m relay). 


Related post