Yuzvendra Chahal reveals Bangalore’s conversation with him on retention

 Yuzvendra Chahal reveals Bangalore’s conversation with him on retention

Chahal (image source : BCCI)

After an initial stint with Mumbai, Yuzvendra Chahal has been an integral part of the Bangalore team in the Indian T20 League. He was their biggest asset in the bowling department. Having the courage to toss the bowl up in the batting-friendly conditions of Bengaluru made him Virat Kohli’s best wicket-taking option.

However, to the surprise of the fans, Chahal was not retained by Bangalore ahead of the 15th edition of the Indian T20 League. An even bigger surprise was Bangalore not buying him back in the mega auction. In a recent media interaction, Chahal revealed the conversation the franchise had with him regarding the retentions.

The wrist-spinner said that he was never asked if he wanted to be retained or not. He was just informed about the three retentions of the franchise and was assured that they would go after him in the auctions.

To quote Chahal from his conversation with TOI – “People and fans on social media are still asking me ‘why did you ask for this much money?”

“The reality is that Mike Hesson called me and said ‘Listen Yuzi, there are three retentions (Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, and Mohammed Siraj)’”- Chahal further added.

He also said that he was neither asked if he wanted to be retained nor was given an offer from Bangalore. He also said that if ever there was an offer he would have said yes out of his loyalty to the franchise.

Yuzi Chahal was eventually roped in by Rajasthan for INR 6.50 Cr. The leg-spinner will be paired up with Ravichandran Ashwin as the spinning duo for Rajasthan.

Rajasthan Squad

Sanju Samson (C), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Jos Buttler, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Shimron Hetmyer, Devdutt Padikkal, Prasidh Krishna, Yuzvendra Chahal, Yuzvendra Chahal, Riyan Parag, KC Cariappa, Navdeep Saini, Anunay Singh, Kuldeep Sen, Dhruv Jurel, Tejas Baroka, Kuldip Yadav, Subham Garhwal, James Neesham, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Rassie van der Dussen, Daryl Mitchell, Obed McCoy.


Related post