Cricket Governing Body announces Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier Team of the tournament

 Cricket Governing Body announces Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier Team of the tournament

Image Source- Twitter

The Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2023 Team of the Tournament includes three players from both Sri Lanka and the Netherlands. Champions Sri Lanka is represented by bowling combination Wanindu Hasaranga and Maheesh Theekshana, as well as opener Pathum Nissanka, while Netherlands are represented by all-rounders Vikramjit Singh and Bas de Leede, as well as captain Scott Edwards.

Zimbabwe had three representatives, including Player of the Tournament Sean Williams, with Scotland providing the remaining two. The jury for this award comprised Natalie Germanos and Brian Murgatroyd (commentary representatives), Firdose Moonda (media representative), Alex Wharf (match officials representative), and Hamilton Masakadza (Tournament Director).

Players selected for the Qualifier Team of the Tournament

Pathum Nissanka begins the batting after two hundred in Zimbabwe, where he finished as the tournament’s second-highest run scorer with 417. Nissanka hit a key 101* from 102 balls to assist the Lions overcome the hosts, as well as a crucial 75 to help the Lions win against Scotland. Vikramjit Singh is second on the list who batted and bowled brilliantly for the Netherlands as they qualified for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup for the first time since 2011. Brandon McMullen is the first Scottish selection for the side, having scored two hundreds, including a 136-run knock against Oman.

Player of the Tournament Sean Williams rounds out the top four, with the Zimbabwe skipper ending the tournament with 600 runs. Bas de Leede, a Dutch hero, comes in at number five, coming off a magnificent performance against Scotland. Sikandar Raza resumes the middle order following a good performance in Zimbabwe.

Sri Lankan bowlers then grab the following two slots, with outstanding performances by Wanindu Hasaranga and Maheesh Theekshana, who enabled their team to qualify and win the overall title. Chris Sole of Scotland is the second last addition to the bowling unit, having taken 11 wickets in his side’s thrilling triumph over Zimbabwe, including a memorable Player of the Match performance.

Zimbabwe’s Richard Ngarava, claimed 14 wickets at an average of 19.28 including four wickets against Nepal in the tournament opener. He lists last in the player of the tournament list.

List of the players

1. Pathum Nissanka (Sri Lanka) 417 runs at 69.50
2. Vikramjit Singh (Netherlands) 326 runs at 40.75 and six wickets
3. Brandon McMullen (Scotland) 364 runs at 52.00 and 13 wickets at 17.52
4. Sean Williams (Zimbabwe) 600 runs at 100.00 and three wickets
5. Bas de Leede (Netherlands) 285 runs at 47.50 and 15 wickets at 22.13
6. Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe) 325 runs at 65.00 and nine wickets at 29.77
7. Scott Edwards (Netherlands) 314 runs at 62.80
8. Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka) 22 wickets at 12.90
9. Maheesh Theekshana (Sri Lanka) 21 wickets at 12.23
10. Chris Sole (Scotland) 11 wickets at 25.00
11. Richard Ngarava (Zimbabwe) 14 wickets at 19.28


Related post