‘Fabulous win’: Dinesh Karthik, the finisher hands Bangalore another impressive win

 ‘Fabulous win’: Dinesh Karthik, the finisher hands Bangalore another impressive win

Royal Challengers Bangalore (Image Credit ; BCCI/IPL)

Delhi and Bangalore locked horns in the 27th game of the Indian T20 League 2022 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. The former won the toss and chose to bowl first without any hesitation. The decision proved to be the right one as Shardul Thakur trapped Anuj Rawat (0) for lbw in the second over of the innings. In the next over, Faf du Plessis (8) was caught by Axar Patel off Khaleel Ahmed. In the seventh over, Virat Kohli (12) was run out by Lalit Yadav with the scorecard reading 40/3.

At this stage, Glenn Maxwell and Suyash Prabhudesai (6) stitched a partnership of 35 runs, with the former doing bulk of the scoring. The latter was caught by Kuldeep Yadav off Axar Patel in the 10th over. Two overs later, Maxwell (55 off 34) was caught at long-on by Lalit Yadav off Kuldeep Yadav. The team was struggling at 92/5 in 11.2 overs. However, the likes of Shahbaz Ahmed and Dinesh Karthik stitched a partnership of unbeaten 97 runs to help the team reach 189/5.

Karthik scored 66 off 34, including five fours and as many sixes. On the other hand, Ahmed scored 32 off 21, including three fours and a six. 

In reply, the 2020 finalists got off to a dream start as openers David Warner and Prithvi Shaw (16) stitched a partnership of 50 runs in just 4.4 overs. Shaw got out to a bouncer from Mohammed Siraj. In came Mitchell Marsh, who struggling to get going. On the other hand, Warner (66 off 38) was going well before he was trapped lbw by Wanindu Hasaranga while playing a switch hit.

After this wicket, the team went from 94/2 to 115/5. Marsh (14) got run out while Rovman Powell (0) and Lalit Yadav (1) were accounted for by Josh Hazlewood in the 15th over. Skipper Rishabh Pant (34 off 17) tried to take the team over the line but his innings was cut short by a one-handed catch from Kohli off Siraj. Shardul Thakur (17) and Axar Patel (10*) played little cameos but the win was out of contention by then. Bangalore eventually won the match by 16 runs.

This is how Twitter reacted


Related post