Fastest balls bowled in the history of the Indian T20 League

 Fastest balls bowled in the history of the Indian T20 League

Fast bowlers have been an integral part of the Indian T20 League. These Express pacers tend to cause a sense of fear among the opposition batters. Thus, almost every team has had a speedster.

This need for speed has propelled bowlers to bowl absolutely quick deliveries. So what are the fastest deliveries in the history of the league? which are the bowlers who have bowled them? Today, we shall be taking a look at the fastest balls bowled the history of the Indian T20 league.

1) Shaun Tait- 157.71 kmph

Shaun Tait was blessed with speed. It is safe to say that he was one of the quickest bowlers of his time. When it comes to the toughest 20, he represented Rajasthan for four editions.

During the 2011 edition he bowled a 157.7 kmph delivery to Aaron Finch. It’s been more than a decade, but he still holds the record for bowling the fastest ball in the history of the league.

2) Anrich Nortje- 156.22 kmph, 155.21 kmph, 154.74 kmph and 154.21 kmph

Anrich Nortje tormented a lot of batters in the 2020 edition. His extra pace significantly helped Delhi in that season. During a game against Rajasthan, he bowled a 156.2 kmph delivery to Jos Buttler, which was hit for a four.

However, he made a superb comeback and managed to dismiss the English batter by bowling the third-fastest ball in the history of the league. His spell helped his side win the game. During that edition in 2020, he regularly clocked over 150 kmph, which included deliveries that clocked 155.21 kmph, 154.74 kmph and 154.21 kmph

3) Dale Steyn- 154.4 kmph

Dale Steyn is arguably one of the best overseas pacers to have played in the league. During his peak, he was nearly unplayable. In 2012, the Proteas pacer bowled a 154.4 kmph ball.

This was when he was playing for Hyderabad Chargers. Thus, he ruled his generation. There aren’t too many bowlers as successful as him.

4) Kagiso Rabada- 154.23 kmph, 153.91 kmph

Like Nortje, Kagiso Rabada finds his name more than once. Over the last few years, he has been one of the fastest bowlers. He clocked 154.23 kmph.

He also bowled a 153.91 kmph delivery. As a matter of fact, he has breached the 150 kmph mark as many as 16 times. There’s a reason why he’s one of the most feared bowlers.

5) Lockie Ferguson- 153.84 kmph

Lockie Ferguson has a habit of breathing fire. His ability to bowl quick deliveries is an absolute gem. He clocked 153.84 kmph in 2020.

That season turned out to be a great one for him. The Kiwi pacer won several games for Kolkata. Thus, teams engaged in a bidding war for him during the mega auction for the 2022 edition.


Related post