IND vs SL: 2nd T20I Preview: Series on line as depleted Sri Lanka eye unlikely win

 IND vs SL: 2nd T20I Preview: Series on line as depleted Sri Lanka eye unlikely win

Image Credit : Twitter

The Indian team has started the series with a dominating  win over Sri Lanka in Lucknow. Both teams now move to Dharamshala for the second and third game of the series. The home team dominated in every department of the game against the visitors. Players such as Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer got back to form with half-centuries.

Both players had struggled against the West Indies. Skipper Rohit Sharma scored a useful 44. The team only lost two wickets and scored 199 runs. As far as bowling is concerned, the Men In Blue’s four main bowlers, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Harshal Patel, and Yuzvendra Chahal bowled with an economy of less than 7. This gave the team an opportunity to hand some bowling experience to the likes of debutant Deepak Hooda and Venkatesh Iyer.

On the other hand, Sri Lanka’s bowling got enough beating on February 24. Apart from left-arm spinner Praveen Jayawickrama, every bowler proved costly. As far as batting is concerned, the batting line-up looked lost as they kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Not to forget, they played too many dot balls during the run chase.

The only common thing between the two teams is dropped catches as they dropped a few. The Dasun Shanaka-led side has a tough task of levelling the series. The team will have to step above their weight.  Also, they need to grab catches to put pressure on the opposition.

Pitch Report

Dharamshala is known to lay a wicket conducive to swing bowling. With the ongoing winter season, it is safe to presume that the pacers will get some help with the new ball. Both teams would like to field first.

Probable Playing XIs

India wouldn’t want to make a change in the winning combination. However, they would like to see players like Sanju Samson, Deepak Hooda and Ravindra Jadeja get some impactful runs under their belt. On the other, Sri Lanka might replace Janith Liyanage with Danushka Gunathilaka.

India-  Ishan Kishan (WK), Rohit Sharma (C), Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Venkatesh Iyer, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Hooda, Harshal Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah

Sri Lanka- Pathum Nissanka, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kamil Mishara (WK), Dinesh Chandimal, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka (C), Chamika Karunaratne, Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrama, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara

Match details

Date- 26th February

Time- 7 p.m (IST)

Venue- Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala


Related post