Indian T20 League 2022: Match 1- Chennai vs Kolkata: Predicted XIs

 Indian T20 League 2022: Match 1- Chennai vs Kolkata: Predicted XIs

Jadeja-Iyer (image source: BCCI)

Chennai will begin their effort to defend the title in the Indian T20 League 2022 against last year’s runners-up Kolkata in the opening clash of the tournament. Both the teams are going to miss some key players in their final eleven in the first match.

Here we take a look at the most probable eleven of both sides.



1.Ruturaj Gaikwad: Chennai has retained Gaikwad ahead of the mega auction of 2022. His orange-cap winning effort of last year will be something the team will expect he repeats. He will play a very important role in giving solid starts to the team.

2.Devon Conway(O): The left-hander from New Zealand will be the replacement for last year’s outstanding performer Faf Du Plessis. With an average of over 50 in T20Is Chennai will surely hope that Conway becomes the ideal partner for Gaikwad

Middle Order

3.Ambati Rayudu: Last year Moeen Ali was used as the pinch hitter at number 3 by Chennai. But this year they will miss Moeen in the first match. So, in the opening clash, Rayudu will be probably batting at the all-important number 3 position for the team.

4.Robin Uthappa: Uthappa’s last year’s performances in the playoffs and the final has made the franchise retain him. He will be a more regular member this year and will play an important role in keeping the innings of the team together.

5.MS Dhoni (WK): MSD has stepped down from captaincy just ahead of the tournament. This might give him added freedom and fans may see some vintage Dhoni finishes.

6.Shivam Dube: The new inclusion in the squad. Chennai will use him as a floater in the batting order according to match situations and also use his medium pace to squeeze out some overs of the 5th bowling option.

All Rounders

7.Ravindra Jadeja (C): Ravindra Jadeja has been one of the most important factors of Chennai’s success over the seasons. This year with the responsibility of leading the team he will look to contribute even more to the team’s cause.

8.Dwayne Bravo (O): Bravo as always will be entrusted with finishing both the batting and bowling efforts of the team.


9.Adam Milne (O): The Kiwi pacer will be the death bowling weapon of the team.

10.Maheesh Theeksana (O): Theeksana will combine with Jadeja as the second spinner for the team in the middle overs.

11.Tushar Deshpande: He will be fulfilling the bowling duties of Deepak Chahar. Big shoes to sill for the young pacer.



1.Venkatesh Iyer: The main reason for Kolkata’s turnaround in the second phase last year will be trusted with the same job this year. The team will look for some solid starts from him.

2.Ajinkya Rahane: Rahane is known to be a steady batsman. He will look to stabilize the start of Kolkata’s innings while Venkatesh Iyer goes aggressive.

Middle Order

3.Shreyas Iyer (C): The new captain of the team will look to lead from the front with his batting efforts at number 3.

4.Nitish Rana: Nitish Rana’s ability to go aggressive from the beginning will be a big plus for the team in the middle overs.

5.Sam Billings (O) (WK): Billings will have to play the role of a pivot shifting his gears according to the match situation.

All Rounders

6.Andre Russell(O): He will be the explosive in the batting order and will also look to bowl some overs for the team.

7.Sunil Narine (O): Narine may be used as a floater in the batting line-up but his main role will be to restrict the opposition in the middle overs with the ball in hand.


8.Tim Southee (O): In absence of Pat Cummins in the first five matches, Southee will have to lead the pace attack for Kolkata.

9.Shivam Mavi: The young pacer will be an important bowler for the team and also a lower order batsman if and when required.

10.Umesh Yadav: Despite his high economy the team has shown faith in him. He will have to repay the franchise with his experience.

11.Varun Chakravarty: Varun Chakravarty will be the leading spinner for the team.



Related post