India’s Shreyanka Patil becomes first Indian to play in Women’s Caribbean Premier League

 India’s Shreyanka Patil becomes first Indian to play in Women’s Caribbean Premier League

Shreyanka Patil (Source: Twitter)

Guyana Amazon Warriors have signed young Indian off-spinner Shreyanka Patil for the upcoming Women’s Caribbean Premier League (WCPL). The tournament is set to take place from August 31 to September 10. Top Indian players including the likes of captain Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana, Jemima Rodrigues, Shafali Verma, Deepti Sharma, and Richa Ghosh have all participated in the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) in Australia and The Hundred in England. However, Shreyanka became the first Indian player to earn a contract in the WCPL.

Shreyanka, who rose to prominence with Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the Women’s Premier League (WPL), will be the first Indian female cricketer to get a contract offer from an international league even before making her senior international debut. She won the Player of the Tournament award in the Women’s Emerging Asia Cup in Hong Kong, where she helped India A win two games by taking nine wickets.

Players from Australia, New Zealand, and South Africa will play in WCPL 2023

The 20-year-old off-spinner stunned everyone with stunning figures of 3-1-2-5 against Hong Kong in the opening game and 4/13 against Bangladesh in the final match of the tournament. Shreyanka had just one chance to bat and that too in the final, but she was out after playing just three balls for a duck. Seven matches will be played over the course of 11 days during the WCPL season of 2023. The Guyana Amazon Warriors, Trinbago Knight Riders, and Barbados Royals will be the three teams playing in the 2023 season.

The top players from the Caribbean are represented on the star-studded teams, including the likes of Deandra Dottin, Hayley Matthews, and Stafanie Taylor. WCPL will feature players from different countries, including some of the top cricketers in the world from Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Ireland, and India. Sophie Devine, Suzie Bates, and Fran Jonas, all from New Zealand, will compete in the WCPL in 2023. Australia’s Laura Harris and Amanda-Jade Wellington will also be there. Dane van Niekerk, Mignon de Preez, and Shabnim Ismail are some South Africans who will take part in the 2023 edition.


Related post