Mega Auction Day 2: Players sold and unsold in Round 2

 Mega Auction Day 2: Players sold and unsold in Round 2

Lungi Ngidi (Image source: BCCI/IPL)

Round two of the second day of mega auction saw a lot of players sold to different teams. This round consisted of pacers, spinners (capped and uncapped), and uncapped batters. Left-arm pacer Khaleel Ahmed attracted the highest bid with 5.25 crores. At the base price of 50 lakhs, Mumbai and Delhi battled with each other but the latter came up trumps. Notably, Ahmed has played for Delhi before.

Another left-armer Chetan Sakariya was sold to Delhi for 4.2 crores. Teams such as Bangalore, Punjab, and his old team Rajasthan were interested in the pacer, who was available at the base price of 50 lakhs. Sandeep Sharma was picked by his first Indian T20 League team, Punjab at his base price of 50 lakhs. Sri Lanka pacer Dushmantha Chameera was picked by Lucknow at 2 crores.  

At the base price of 75 lakhs, Navdeep Saini attracted bids from Lucknow, Mumbai, and Rajasthan but Rajasthan nabbed him for 2.6 crores. Even without any significant performances in the last few years, Jaydev Unadkat attracted bids from Mumbai and Chennai but the former won the bid at 1.3 crore.  

Mayank Markande returned to his first ITL team, Mumbai at 65 lakhs. However, Lucknow and Rajasthan didn’t make it easy for the five-time winners. Left-arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem was roped in by Lucknow at his base price of 50 lakhs. Sri Lanka mystery spinner Maheesh Theekshana was bought by Chennai for 70 lakh after battling with Kolkata. Rinku Singh was bought by his old team Kolkata for 55 lakh but not without tussling with Lucknow. 

Last player to be sold was Manan Vohra. The right-handed opening batter was bought by Lucknow at his base price of 20 lakh.  

Meanwhile, as many as 15 players including Ishant Sharma and Lungi Ngidi were unsold in round 2

List of players sold in round two of day two

Name Base Price Sold Price Team
Khaleel Ahmed 50 lakh 5.25 crore Delhi
Dushmanta Chameera 50 lakh 2 crore Lucknow
Chetan Sakariya 50 lakh 4.2 crore Delhi
Sandeep Sharma 50 lakh 50 lakh Punjab
Navdeep Saini 75 lakh 2.6 crore Rajasthan
Jaydev Unadkat 75 lakh 1.3 crore Mumbai
Mayank Markande 50 lakh 65 lakh Mumbai
Shahbaz Nadeem 50 lakh 50 lakh Lucknow
Maheesh Theekshana 50 lakh 70 lakh Chennai
Rinku Singh 20 lakh 55 lakh Kolkata
Manan Vohra 20 lakh 20 lakh Lucknow

List of unsold players

Full Name
Ishant Sharma
Lungi Ngidi
Sheldon Cottrell
Nathan Coulter Nile
Tabraiz Shamsi
Qais Ahmad
Karn Sharma
Ish Sodhi
Piyush Chawla
Virat Singh
Himmat Singh
Sachin Baby
Harnoor Singh
Himanshu Rana
Ricky Bhui


Related post