Mega Auction: Schedule, Timings, Streaming details and all you need to know

 Mega Auction: Schedule, Timings, Streaming details and all you need to know

Mega auction (Image source: Twitter)

Indian T20 League (ITL) mega auction is right around the corner. This will be the fourth time in the history of ITL that a mega auction will be conducted. Previously mega auctions were conducted in the years 2011, 2016, and 2018. In 2011, two new teams Kochi and Pune were added into the league. In 2016, two new teams Pune and Gujarat were added to replace the suspended Rajasthan and Chennai for two seasons. In 2018, the suspended teams returned and the replacing team made way for the former.

Before these auctions, the governing council had rolled out the rule that teams would be allowed to retain a specific number of players. This time it won’t be any different as teams have been allowed to retain a maximum of four players in different combinations. The rule was set after two new teams- Lucknow and Ahmedabad- were bought last year.

The excitement for the auction will be high among the fans, although players such as Chris Gayle, Ben Stokes, Mitchell Starc have opted out of the auction due to several reasons. A total of 590 players have been shortlisted for the two-day event. A total of 27 players were retained by eight teams and two new teams have signed three players each ahead of the auction. Here we are, giving the basic details of the auction.

Date and Venue

The event will be held on February 12 and 13 in Bengaluru. The event will take place while adhering to the COVID19 safety protocols.

Live Telecast

The event will be broadcasted on Star Sports network

Online Streaming

The internet users can watch the event on Disney + Hotstar.

Timings according to the Indian Standard Time (IST)

The live coverage will start from 11 AM on February 12. However, the auction will start from 12 PM.

Retained/picked players:

Chennai: Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni, Moeen Ali, Ruturaj

Mumbai: Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Suryakumar Yadav, Kieron Pollard

Bangalore: Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Mohammed Siraj

Hyderabad: Kane Williamson, Abdul Samad, Umran Malik

Rajasthan: Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler, Yashasvi Jaiswal

Kolkata: Andre Russell, Varun Chakravarthy, Venkatesh Iyer, Sunil Narine

Delhi: Rishabh Pant, Axar Patel, Prithvi Shaw, Anrich Nortje

Punjab: Mayank Agarwal, Arshdeep Singh

Gujarat: Hardik Pandya, Rashid Khan, Shubman Gill

Lucknow: KL Rahul, Marcus Stoinis, Ravi Bishnoi

Purse remaining:

Team Purse Remaining
Chennai 48 crore
Mumbai 48 crore
Bangalore 57 crore
Hyderabad 68 crore
Kolkata 48 crore
Rajasthan 62 crore
Delhi 47.5 crore
Punjab 72 crore
Gujarat 52 crore
Lucknow 58 crore


Related post