‘Series bhi jeetni hai guru’ – Fans react as AB de Villiers feels Virat Kohli will be at his best in Test series against South Africa

 ‘Series bhi jeetni hai guru’ – Fans react as AB de Villiers feels Virat Kohli will be at his best in Test series against South Africa

Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers (Image Credit: Twitter)

Former India skipper Virat Kohli has been part of India’s tour of South Africa three times (2013, 2017-18, and 2021-22). In the two series out of these, the Men In Blue were favorites to create history, i.e. win a Test series in South Africa. However, in both series (2017 and 2021), the Asian side lost by 2-1. In the previous series player in the Rainbow Nation, India was leading by 1-0 at one point.

Meanwhile, for the first time between both teams in Southern Africa, they will play only two Tests. Previously, India played a two-match Test series against the Proteas only at home (2000 and 2010). Meanwhile, ahead of the upcoming India’s tour of South Africa 2023-24, AB de Villiers has said that he the fans will see the best of Kohli during the Test series.

“We will see the best of Virat. I cannot wait to see the chest out, the eye contact with the opposition, and being a bit verbal with everyone. Because he will be fired up for this series. South Africa will need to be careful. This Indian squad is pure world-class,” De Villiers said.

Virat Kohli will only play the Test series against Australia

The former India skipper, alongside the current skipper Rohit Sharma has been rested for the ODI and T20I series against the Proteas.

India’s squad for Tests: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), KL Rahul (Wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohd. Shami*, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna.

India’s squad for 3 T20Is: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (Wk), Jitesh Sharma (Wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar.

India’s squad for 3 ODIs: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (C) (Wk), Sanju Samson (Wk), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar.

This is how Twitter reacted


Related post