Venues for 20-20 World Cup in Australia revealed

 Venues for 20-20 World Cup in Australia revealed

Melbourne (Photo by Darrian Traynor/Getty Images)

Seven Australian cities have been finalized to host the 20-20 World Cup in 2022. Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, Perth, and Adelaide are the cities that will host the showpiece event starting from October 16 to November 13 in 2022. Melbourne will host the grand finale.

Hobart and Geelong are the likely two venues that will host the Round 1 matches. “The event which is scheduled to take place between 16 October and 13 November next year will see a total of 45 matches hosted across Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth, and Sydney,” press release stated.

Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) and Adelaide Oval will host the semifinal matches on November 9 and 10 respectively. Among the top playing countries, Australia, New Zealand, India, South Africa, England, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Bangladesh have gained direct entry into the Super 12 stage.

West Indies, who had a miserable outing in the recently concluded 20-20 World Cup, will play round 1 along with Namibia, Scotland, and Sri Lanka. The remaining four places for the showpiece event 2022 will be filled via qualification pathway, in two global qualifying tournaments set to take place in Oman and Zimbabwe.

Head of events, Chris Tetley is delighted to announce the host cities for the 20-20 World Cup 2022. “We are looking forward to seeing the return of ICC events to Australia and are delighted to announce the seven host cities for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022.

“Following the success of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in 2020 and a two-year postponement, our sights are now firmly set on planning for the 2022 event in collaboration with the LOC. With 12 teams already confirmed in the line-up, we eagerly await the culmination of the qualification process to see which other teams will join them,” he stated.

Bethive Admin

Related post