WATCH: Yuzvendra Chahal predicts Orange and Purple Cap winners for IPL 2024

 WATCH: Yuzvendra Chahal predicts Orange and Purple Cap winners for IPL 2024

India and Rajasthan Royals leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal has predicted the Orange Cap and Purple Cap winners for the IPL 2024. Notably, he won the Purple Cap for most wickets in the 2022 edition. On the other hand, Orange Cap is won by the batter with the most runs in a season wins the award. Shubman Gill, who will lead the Gujarat Titans this year, was the last winner of the award.

Meanwhile, ahead of the 17th season starting on March 22, Chahal has spoken about the potential winners of both awards. The 2011 Champions League winner said that Rashid Khan, who is currently injured and out of the game, will win the Purple Cap award. The Afghanistan international was the third-highest wicket-taker last year and has never won the award. Chahal added that as Mohammed Shami is missing this season, Khan will have the responsibility.

Watch the video here

Yuzvendra Chahal picks his Rajasthan Royals teammates to win Orange Cap

The Haryana player added that the likes of Yashavi Jaiswal and Jos Buttler, who will open the batting for the 2008 winners, might win the award. The latter won the same two years back with close to 900 runs and four hundreds in the season. On the other hand, Jaiswal was one of the top run-getters last year. Since then, he has played for India in Tests and T20I and has been the leading run scorer in the ongoing Test series against England with two double hundreds.

Rajasthan Royals squad for IPL 2024

Retained Players: Adam Zampa, Avesh Khan (T), Dhruv Jurel, Donovan Ferreira, Jos Buttler, Kuldeep  Sen, Kunal Rathore, Navdeep Saini, Prasidh Krishna, R. Ashwin, Riyan Parag, Sandeep Sharma, Sanju Samson, Shimron Hetmyer, Trent Boult, Yashaswi Jaiswal, Yuzvendra Chahal

Signed during the auction: Rovman Powell, Shubham Dubey, Tom-Kohler Cadmore, Abid Mushtaq, Nandre Burger


Related post