West Indies announce squads for Pakistan tour

 West Indies announce squads for Pakistan tour

West Indies cricket (Image Credit:(Photo by Francois Nel/Getty Images)

Cricket West Indies (CWI) have announced squads for the ODI and T20I series against Pakistan. The series will comprise three ODIs and as many T20Is, set to begin on December 13 in Karachi. Roger Harper-led selection panel have named quite a few uncapped players in both squads. Justin Greaves, Shamarh Brooks, Gudakesh Motie, and Odean Smith have been included in the squads owing to their consistent performances in domestic cricket and CPL. Fast bowling all-rounder Dominic Drakes, who travelled to UAE as a net bowler for West Indies in the 20-20 World Cup, has also been included in the T20 squad.

Greaves and Brooks are part of the 50-over squad, while Motie and Smith’s good showing in the CPL has earned them a place in the T20 squad. Meanwhile, Jason Holder has been rested from the tour, while Andre Russell, Shimron Hetmyer and Ewin Lewis have opted out.

“There are a number of talented newcomers in each format that will have the opportunity to show what they are capable of at the international level. Justin Greaves is a very talented player, had a good CG Insurance Supre50 tournament, and performed well in the President’s XI match against Ireland in 2020,” Harper said in a statement.

The three ODIs are part of the ICC ODI Super League. West Indies are currently placed eighth in the Super League table and will need to win a few series to move up. Notably, the top seven teams will secure automatic qualification for the 50-Over World Cup in India.

ODI squad: Kieron Pollard (Captain), Shai Hope (Vice-Captain), Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Justin Greaves, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Gudakesh Motie, Anderson Phillip, Nicholas Pooran, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr.

T20 Squad: Kieron Pollard (Captain), Nicholas Pooran (Vice-Captain), Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.

Bethive Admin

Related post