CWG 2022: All you need to know about the big clash between India vs Pakistan

 CWG 2022: All you need to know about the big clash between India vs Pakistan

India Women’s Team-Pakistan Women’s Team (Image source- Twitter)

India Women’s team and Pakistan Women’s team are all set to meet each other at Commonwealth Games 2022 in Birmingham. With Mithali Raj having retired from the game, Harmanpreet Kaur will lead the Indian side. On the other side, Bismah Maroof will serve as the captain of the Pakistan cricket team.

The two have been placed in group A, and this will be the second game for each team in the event. India will have played Australia in their opening game, while Pakistan will have played Barbados. The match will be played at the Edgbaston Stadium in Birmingham on the 31st of July.

Given how infrequently the two teams compete, the matchup is certain to be thrilling. The only time these two compete against one another is in major multi-team competitions. India defeated England by 107 runs in their most recent matchup in the Women’s World Cup in 2022.

In T20I cricket, the women in blue have a very strong record against Pakistan. India has prevailed over England nine times in their eleven matches. Pakistan has only managed to defeat their arch-rivals twice in T20Is.

“I am a big cricket fan myself. India are in the same group as Pakistan so that has really caught the interest here in Birmingham. It is an iconic venue, your men’s team recently played here over the last few weeks. So it would certainly be one of the highlights of the Games,” Birmingham Games CEO Ian Reid said.


India Women: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana (vc), Taniya Bhatia (wk), Yastika Bhatia (wk), Harleen Deol, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Sabbineni Meghana, Sneh Rana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Meghna Singh, Renuka Singh, Pooja Vastrakar, Shafali Verma, Radha Yadav

Pakistan Women: Bismah Maroof (c), Mubeena Ali (wk), Anam Amin, Aiman Anwer, Diana Baig, Nida Dar, Gull Feroza (wk), Tuba Hassan, Kainat Imtiaz, Sadia Iqbal, Iram Javed, Ayesha Naseem, Aliya Riaz, Fatima Sana, Omaima Sohail

Match Details

Date- 31st July 2022

Time- 4.30 PM IST

Venue- Edgbaston Stadium, Birmingham

Broadcast- Sony Sports Network, Sony Liv

Bethive Staff

Related post