Deepak Chahar, Ishan Kishan included in India A squad for South Africa tour – Reports

 Deepak Chahar, Ishan Kishan included in India A squad for South Africa tour – Reports

Deepak Chahar and Ishan Kishan(Photo by Surjeet Yadav/Getty Images

Pacer Deepak Chahar and wicketkeeper-batter Ishan Kishan have been added to India A squad for the South Africa tour. The duo is currently with the National side in Kolkata for the final T20I against New Zealand. After the conclusion of the match on Sunday (November 21), they will fly to Bloemfontein to join the rest of the India A squad members, who have already reached South Africa for a three-match red-ball series.

According to a report in Cricbuzz, Chahar and Kishan will reach Mumbai on November 24 before flying to Bloemfontein. All-rounder Shardul Thakur is also one of the likely candidates to join the team. The Priyank Panchal-led side will open the series against South Africa A side on November 23. The squad will be coached by Shitanshu Kotak, which also sees Sairaj Bahutule as the bowling coach and T Ghosh as the fielding coach.

The squad boasts of youth and experience and has the likes of Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Paddikal, Navdeep Saini, Sarfaraz Khan, and Rahul Chahar in the team. Interestingly, Upendra Yadav was the only designated wicketkeeper-batter in the side announced by the Chetan Sharma-led panel on November 9.

Now, Kishan will be the second wicketkeeper-batter in the team. Chahar’s inclusion will bolster the pace bowling department, which has Saini, Umran Malik, Ishan Porel, and Arzan Nagwaswalla.

Malik shot into the limelight due to his express pace in the recently concluded IPL. Porel, Saini, and Nagaswalla have been consistent performers in the domestic circuit. India A tour of South Africa presents a good opportunity for youngsters to prove their mettle in the red-ball format. A good performance in South African conditions will give the youngsters enough confidence.

India ‘A’ squad for South Africa tour: Priyank Panchal (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Devdutt Padikkal, Sarfaraz Khan, Baba Aparajith, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Upendra Yadav (wicket-keeper), K Gowtham, Rahul Chahar, Saurabh Kumar, Navdeep Saini, Umran Malik, Ishan Porel, Deepak Chahar and Arzan Nagwaswalla.

Bethive Admin

Related post