England name 12-man squad for Gabba Test

 England name 12-man squad for Gabba Test

England (Photo by Tom Jenkins/Getty Images)

England Cricket Board have announced the 12 man squad for the first Test in Brisbane, starting from December 8 at Gabba. As expected, James Anderson has not been included in the first 12. The pacer is struggling with a calf injury and has been rested from the game as a precautionary measure. England have named four pacers in the squad, with Mark Wood, Ollie Robinson and Stuart Broad likely to start. England can also play Chris Woakes instead of Stuart Broad.

Rory Burns and Haseeb Hameed are likely to open, with Root, Dawid Malan and Ollie Pope to follow. Jos Buttler has been preferred over Jonny Bairstow. Jack Leach is the specialist spinner in the team.

Earlier, Australia had also announced playing XI for the first Test. Travis Head was included in the team ahead of Usman Khawaja, while Marcus Harris was also added to partner David Warner at the top. Alex Carey will be the wicketkeeper of the side. Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood and Mitchell Starc will be the three pacers, with an additional option of Cameron Green. Nathan Lyon is the specialist spinner.

England XI

Joe Root (c), Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Haseeb Hameed, Jack Leach, Dawid Malan, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

Australia XI

David Warner, Marcus Harris, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood

Rinish William

Related post