India name squads for SL series; this player named as India Test captain

 India name squads for SL series; this player named as India Test captain

Rohit Sharma (Photo by Julian Finney/Getty Images)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India have named the India squad for the Sri Lanka series. KS Bharat, Priyank Panchal and Sourabh Kumar are the three uncapped players included in the Test squad. However, the major news from the squad is that Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane have been dropped from the team following an extended dry run. Meanwhile, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami and Ravindra Jadeja have returned to the team. The pacers were rested from the limited overs series against West Indies, while Jadeja was struggling with an injury.

Another major development comes in the form of the new Test skipper. The BCCI have named Rohit Sharma as the new Test skipper of the side. The post was left vacant since Virat Kohli relinquished Test captaincy after a series of events, which saw BCCI sack him as ODI captain and India losing the Test series against South Africa. Rohit will take charge of the team from the Sri Lanka Test series which gets underway on March 4. The teams will play a three-match T20I series ahead of the Test matches. While Rohit was the prime contender to lead India, few reports suggested that BCCI is mulling over naming KL Rahul or Rishabh Pant as Test skipper to manage Rohit’s workload. However, the speculations are put to rest now.

As for the T20I series, Sanju Samson has been included in the team, while Virat Kohli has been given a break.

India Test squad: Rohit Sharma (C), Mayank Agarwal, Priyank Panchal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas, Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Rishabh Pant, KS Bharat, Ashwin (fitness), Ravi Jadeja, Jayant Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Sourabh Kumar.

India T20I squad: Rohit Sharma, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Sanju Samson, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Avesh Khan.

Rinish William

Related post