Indian T20 League 2022: Match 2- Delhi vs Mumbai – Predicted XI for both teams

 Indian T20 League 2022: Match 2- Delhi vs Mumbai – Predicted XI for both teams

ROhit-Pant (image source : BCCI)

Delhi and Mumbai will begin their journey in the 15th edition of the Indian T20 League in the second match of the tournament. Brabourne stadium will be the host of the match.

Mumbai will come into the tournament to win their 6th Indian T20 League title. While Delhi will look to win their maiden title. Mumbai looks like a relatively weaker side with their biggest woes being death bowling options. However, Delhi looks like a balanced side with all the bases covered.

Here we look at probable elevens of both the teams.


Openers: Prithvi Shaw and Tim Seifert (O)

In absence of David Warner, Prithvi Shaw will have a new opening partner in Tim Seifert for the first few matches of the tournament. Shaw will have to play the role of the senior partner in this partnership.

Middle Order: KS Bharat, Rishabh Pant (C & WK), Rovman Powell (O), Sarfraz Khan

Rovman Powell and Rishabh Pant will act as the catalysts in the middle order. KS Bharat will be entrusted with the job of rotating the strike and keeping the scoreboard ticking while the others attack around him. Powell will be asked to come in and give Delhi an explosive finish.

All Rounders: Axar Patel and Shardul Thakur

Both Patel and Thakur have shown great temperament in the international arena recently. Their presence will be important in both the batting and bowling efforts of Delhi.

Bowlers: Chetan Shakariya, Kuldeep Yadav, Kamlesh Nagarkotti

Chetan Shakariya was more than impressive for Rajasthan last season, so Delhi will hope that he carries his good form to this season also. Kuldeep Yadav is out of form for a long time now and also the inexperience of Nagarkotti might be the weak link in Delhi’s squad.



Openers: Rohit Sharma (C) and Ishan Kishan (WK)

Rohit Sharma is an opener who likes to take time before he can switch gears. Ishan Kishan will be the best partner for Sharma. He will go aggressive from the very beginning and thus allow Sharma the time to get settled.

Middle Order: Tilak Verma, Tim David (O), Kieron Pollard (O)

Tilak Verma will have the experience of Kieron Pollard around him to settle down into the squad. Tim David with a T20 career strike rate of 159 will be given the job that Hardik Pandya used to do for them still now. David along with Pollard will look to give an explosive finish to Mumbai.

All-Rounders: Sanjay Yadav and Daniel Sams (O)

Daniel Sams will have an important job of finishing the inning for Mumbai with his power hitting.  Sanjay Yadav will look to mould himself into the team culture and his role in it and try and live up to his reputation.

Bowlers: Tymal Mills (O), Mayank Markande, Jasprit Bumrah, Jaydev Unadkat

The biggest place of concern for Mumbai this year will be their bowling. There is no reputed death over bowler to partner Jasprit Bumrah. Tymal Mills is reputed to be a good T20 death bowler but in Indian T20 League he is still to prove his mettle. Besides, Mayank Markande’s inconsistency will also give the captain some headaches.


Related post