Indian T20 League 2022: Punjab vs Bangalore – Match 3: Preview, Playing XIs, Pitch Report & Update

 Indian T20 League 2022: Punjab vs Bangalore – Match 3: Preview, Playing XIs, Pitch Report & Update

Mayank-Faf (image source : BCCI)

The third match of the Indian T20 League 2022 will be between Punjab and Bangalore. The venue for the match is the Dr. DY Patil Stadium, Mumbai.

Both Punjab and Bangalore will be looking to lay hands on the Indian T20 League trophy for the first time. The teams have looked to sort out their woes in the mega auction and will certainly look to execute their plans to perfection throughout the tournament.

Let’s take a look at the important details of the match.

Team news

Punjab: Punjab left KL Rahul and handed over the captaincy duties to Mayank Agarwal. So, the team will be playing under the leadership of a new captain and will be hoping for better results.

Unavailable Players: Johnny Bairstow won’t be part of the final eleven for the first match due to national duties.

Probable XI: Mayank Agarwal (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Prabhsimran Singh, Liam Livingstone (O), Shahrukh Khan, Odean Smith (O), Harpreet Brar, Sandeep Sharma, Kagiso Rabada (O), Arshdeep Singh, Rahul Chahar

Key Players:

Shikhar Dhawan: Shikhar Dhawan finished the 2021 Indian T20 League with 587 runs under his belt. He will be an important factor for Punjab in their batting effort. Punjab will be hoping that Dhawan provides them with some solid starts.

Kagiso Rabada: The South African will be the leader of the pack for Punjab bowling. The team will look at him to provide them with wickets at the most important stages of the game.


Bangalore: Well, the biggest news in the Bangalore camp is that Virat Kohli will not be leading the team anymore. The former Chennai player Faf Du Plessis will be captaining Bangalore this season.

Unavailable Players: Josh Hazlewood and Jason Behrendorff won’t be available for Bangalore in the first match due to national duty. While Glenn Maxwell will be unavailable due to personal reasons.

Probable XI: Faf Du Plessis (O) (C), Anuj Rawat, Virat Kohli, Sherfane Rutherford (O), Dinesh Karthik (WK), Mahipal Lomror, Shabaz Ahmed, Wanindu Hasaranga (O), Harshal Patel, Mohammad Siraj, David Willey (O).

Key Players

Virat Kohli: Virat Kohli will not be leading Bangalore this year. This might give Kohli a different sense of freedom and he would be able to express himself even more as a batsman.

Faf Du Plessis: Faf Du Plessis appears a very cool and calm customer on the field. Along with the batting responsibilities he might induce a new atmosphere in the dressing room thus helping Bangalore to their maiden Indian T20 League title.

Hasrhal Patel: Bangalore will be depending on the last year’s purple cap winner to repeat his performance.

Match Details

Venue: DY Patil Stadium, Mumbai

Time: 7:30 PM

Live Telecast: Star Sports Network and Disney+ HotStar

Pitch Report: DY Patil stadium is expected to provide good bounce to the players. So, both the bowlers and the batter will have chances of performing. A match with a score of around 160-170 can be expected.

Records at the DY Patil Stadium

Highest Total: 190 for 7 wickets by Delhi against Pune

Lowest Total: 82 all out by Hyderabad vs Bangalore

Weather Report: The weather is expected to be hot and humid. The average temperature during the match will be around 28 degrees Celsius. The expected humidity will be around 84%. As this will be a night game, dew is expected to be a big factor.


Related post