Pakistan Test squad announced for Australia series

 Pakistan Test squad announced for Australia series

Australia (Photo by Daniel Kalisz/Getty Images)

Pakistan is all set to host Australia in a historic bilateral series. This is the first Australian team to visit Pakistan in 24 years, the last time was in 1998. The series will be a complete series including three Tests, three ODI’s, and a T20 match.

PCB has announced the Test squad for the series. Most of the members selected in this 16-member squad were expected to be on the side, and the reserved players too were expected to be included.

Shaan Masood has been brought to the side to replace Abid Ali, who is currently under treatment for Acute Coronary Syndrome. The 32-year old last played a test match against New Zealand last year. He has played a total of 25 Test matches so far and has an average of 29.3. Interestingly, Yasir Shah has been included in the reserved players. He was left out of the team after the series against West Indies last year. Haris Rauf, who has been making the headlines with his performance in limited overs cricket has been included as well.

Chief selector Muhammed Wasim said that the squad has been selected based on the performances of the players. “We have opted for consistency for the important home series against Australia and changes have only been made where absolutely necessary, This is to give the boys confidence, reward them for their impressive performances in the longer version of the game in 2021 and continue to build the side for the future.

“These are the best available, most talented, and in-form players in the domestic circuit. I am confident they will put up an impressive performance against a formidable Australia side,” Wasim said as quoted by NDTV.

Pakistan squad for Tests: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (vice-captain), Abdullah Shafique, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, Zahid Mahmood

Reserves: Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Abbas, Naseem Shah, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Yasir Shah

Rinish William

Related post