Rohit Sharma Surpasses Another Record Of Virat Kohli During The Third T20I Vs West Indies

 Rohit Sharma Surpasses Another Record Of Virat Kohli During The Third T20I Vs West Indies

Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma (Image Source: Twitter)

On 2 August 2022, Rohit Sharma’s men played against West Indies in the third T20I match of the series in St Kitts. After winning the first match convincingly, West Indies made a comeback in the second match. But, India managed to win the third match as they took a 2-1 lead in the series with two more matches to go. However, the match did not go as per plan for Rohit Sharma as an individual batter. 

He came out to bat with Suryakumar Yadav while chasing the target of 165 runs. But, he appeared to have hurt his lower back while hitting a six. Hence, he got retired hurt after scoring 11 runs off 5 balls only, including one four and one six. But, even that small contribution came out as a blessing for Rohit. It helped him to create a record by surpassing other Indian greats Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni in T20Is. 

Rohit Sharma has now hit 60 sixes in 34 T20I innings as the Indian captain

Speaking of the record, Rohit has now hit 60 sixes in 34 innings for India after becoming the captain in the shortest format of the game. Previously, Virat Kohli hold that record as he hit 59 sixes in 50 T20I matches. Notably, MS Dhoni managed to hit 34 sixes while he led India in T20Is.

Speaking of the match, India asked West Indies to bat first after winning the toss. Kyle Mayers scored 73 runs off 50 balls as West Indies put up a total of 164 runs. In reply, India continued with the same opening pair of Rohit Sharma and Suryakumar Yadav. But, Rohit managed to score only 11 runs off 5 balls before he got retired hurt to his lower back issues.

But, Suryakumar Yadav scored a match-winning 76 runs off 44 balls. It ensured India’s victory over the opposition as India took a lead once again in the series. With two more matches to go, Rohit Sharma will look to become fit quickly to add more sixes to his tally being the Indian captain in T20Is.


Related post