South African players to miss the start of the Indian T20 League 2022?

 South African players to miss the start of the Indian T20 League 2022?

Quinton de Kock (Photo by CHRISTIAAN KOTZE/AFP via Getty Images)

South Africa recently named their squad for the three-match ODI series against Bangladesh. While this series will be a part of the World Cup Super League, it shall start on March 18. An important point to be noted is that their 16-member squad consists of eight players who have an Indian T20 league contract.

There has been a lot of debate over the international vs Indian T20 league and player commitments. Some pundits are of the opinion that international cricket should always be the top priority and players shouldn’t miss international games for this league. However, at the end, it depends upon the individuals.

As far as the Proteas squad for the one-day series against Bangladesh is concerned, Anrich Nortje and Sisanda Magala will not feature as neither of them have recovered from their injuries. As this series concludes just three days before the start of the 2022 edition of the toughest 20, there is a big question mark over the participation of the Indian T20 league-bound South Africa players’ availability for the first few games.

The players who are set to participate in the fifteenth edition of the league, and are in South Africa’s squad, are Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Quinton de Kock, Aiden Markram, Dwaine Pretorius, and Marco Jansen. However, the ODI series between the two sides are to be played in a “relaxed bubble”. This means that they still might be able to reach India on time post the completion of the series.

However, the players in the Test squad will face a major dilemma. The two-match Test series between the rainbow nation and the Bangla tigers takes place from March 31 to April 12. Cricket South Africa’s recent statement had said that the decision lies with the players, and it is up to them to decide if they want to miss the series or not.

Dean Elgar recently commented about how the Proteas players need to prioritize their international commitments over the league. Thus, it will be exciting to see how things unfold. The Indian fans would hope that the players choose to play the toughest T20 league in the world from the first game itself.

South Africa ODI squad:

Temba Bavuma (captain), Keshav Maharaj (vice-captain), Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Zubayr Hamza, Marco Jansen, Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne


Related post