Why Tom Hartley was given ‘not-out’ in Ravichandran Ashwin’s over during Vizag Test

 Why Tom Hartley was given ‘not-out’ in Ravichandran Ashwin’s over during Vizag Test

Ravichandran Ashwin (Source: X)

On Day 4 of India’s second Test match against England, a moment of enormous uncertainty occurred. The Decision Review System (DRS) denied India spinner Ravichandran Ashwin his 500th Test wicket during the second session of the fourth day, confusing the whole Indian squad and pundits.

India spinner Ravichandran Ashwin dismissed Tom Hartley in the fourth innings of the second Test match in Vizag, or so it appeared at first. Ashwin trapped Hartley in front of the stumps, and umpire Chris Gaffaney made the on-field call.

Following Gaffaney’s ruling, England spinner Hartley immediately referred it to the third umpire. The DRS indicated that the ball hit Hartley’s forearm on an ‘umpire’s call’ and also hit the wicket on the same call.

As the supporters began to celebrate, the third umpire reversed the on-field ruling and ruled that it was not out.

India dominates England to win the second Test match

India players were confused and sought to confront Gaffaney about his choice. Commentators Eoin Morgan and Ravi Shastri were unable to give any clarity, stating only that this had caused much misunderstanding.

When the match started on Day 4 England needed 332 runs to win the 2nd Test match against India. Before getting dismissed by Axar Patel Rehan Ahmed and Zak Crawley put a partnership of 28 runs together.  Joe Root and Ollie Pope were out by hitting for big runs.

In the first session, England scored 130 runs but lost five wickets which include set Zak Crawley on 73 runs. Later England captain Ben Stokes was run out by Shreyas Iyer. Shreyas Iyer also did the same celebration as he took a brilliant catch of his in the first innings. England’s last three wickets fell to fast bowlers as India won the second series in Vizag against England by 106 runs. Now the five-match series is levelled at 1-1 with three games left to play. The third Test match will be played at Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot.


Related post

1 Comment

Comments are closed.