BCCI bag hosting rights of three global events in next cycle

 BCCI bag hosting rights of three global events in next cycle

India (Photo by Mark Kolbe/Getty Images)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India have cracked a big deal as they have bagged the hosting rights of three major cricket events the next cycle. India will host the 2026 20-20 World Cup along with Sri Lanka. They will also stage the 2029 Champions Trophy and the 2031 50-over World Cup with Bangladesh.

Meanwhile, USA will also get to host a major cricket event. USA along with West Indies will host 2024 20-over World Cup. Pakistan have also bagged the right to host the 2025 Champions Trophy. This will be the first time in over two decades that Pakistan will host any global event. Recently, Pakistan have done well to convince teams to come and play in Pakistan. England and Australia have also confirmed their visit to the country next year.

“It delights me no end that Pakistan will be hosting this prestigious world tournament. It is going to be a viewing boon to millions of Pakistani fans who had to wait patiently for years to be part of something as grand as this. The world will sample our hospitality to go with our great exciting cricket,” Raja told Cricbuzz.

Meanwhile, another associate nation Namibia will also get to stage an ICC event. Namibia will co-host the 50 over World Cup with South Africa and Zimbabwe in 2027.

“The hosts were selected via a competitive bidding process overseen by a Board sub-committee chaired by Martin Snedden along with Sourav Ganguly and Ricky Skerritt,” ICC said in a statement. “The ICC Board accepted the recommendations of the committee, who conducted a thorough review of each bid along with ICC management. A similar process to identify the hosts for ICC Women’s and U19s events for the next cycle will be undertaken early next year.”

Year ICC Event (Men) Host (s)
2024 T20 World Cup USA, West Indies
2025 Champions Trophy Pakistan
2026 T20 World Cup India, Sri Lanka
2027 ODI World Cup South Africa, Zimbabwe, Namibia
2028 T20 World Cup Australia, New Zealand
2029 Champions Trophy India
2030 T20 World Cup England, Ireland, Scotland
2031 ODI World Cup India, Bangladesh

Bethive Admin

Related post