Breaking! Asia Cup schedule announced, India to face Pakistan on August 28

 Breaking! Asia Cup schedule announced, India to face Pakistan on August 28

India Cricket Team, Pakistan Cricket Team (Image Credit; Twitter)

The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) has announced the schedule of the upcoming Asia Cup 2022. As announced earlier, the tournament will start on August 27. The tournament will kick off with a game between Sri Lanka and Afghanistan in Dubai. On the next day, arch-rivals, India and Pakistan will lock horns at the same venue. This will be the first time in Men’s cricket this year that both teams will play each other.

Their women counterparts have played each other two times this year and on both occasions, the Women In Blue was on top. The India men’s team would also be looking to do the same. After all, the last game between the two teams in the 20-20 World Cup last year didn’t end on a good note for the Men In Blue. They had lost the game by 10 wickets.

This time around, they will be looking to improve their performances. On the other hand, the Green Brigade would like to repeat the glory. Not to forget, the last time they won against India in the Asian tournament was way back in 2014. In that tournament, Shahid Afridi’s two sixes assured that the team crosses the winning line by one wicket. Talking about the schedule of the upcoming tournament, Bangladesh and Afghanistan will play each other on August 30.

There won’t be any games on the day before. On the last day of this month, India will play the sixth qualifying team which is yet to be determined. The teams have been divided into two groups of three each. In the Group A, teams such as India, Pakistan, and the qualifier will play each other. On the other hand, in the Group B, teams such as Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan will play each other.

The top two teams from each group will qualify for the Super Fours. Out of them, only two teams will play the final on September 13. The matches will be played in Dubai and Sharjah.

Schedule of the tournament

Match Date Teams Groups Venue Time (IST
1 August 27 Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan B Dubai 6:00 PM
2 August 28 India vs Pakistan A Dubai 6:00 PM
3 August 30 Bangladesh vs Afghanistan B Sharjah 6:00 PM
4 August 31 India vs Qualifier A Dubai 6:00 PM
5 September 1 Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh B Dubai 6:00 PM
6 September2 Pakistan vs Qualifier A Sharjah 6:00 PM
7 September 3 B1 vs B2 Super 4 Sharjah 6:00 PM
8 September 4 A1 vs A2 Super 4 Dubai 6:00 PM
9 September 6 A1 vs B1 Super 4 Dubai 6:00 PM
10 September 7 A2 vs B2 Super 4 Dubai 6:00 PM
11 September 8 A1 vs B2 Super 4 Dubai 6:00 PM
12 September 9 B1 vs A2 Super 4 Dubai 6:00 PM
13 September 11 Super Four 1st vs Super Four 2nd Final Dubai 6:00 PM


Related post