Major League Cricket (MLC) to begin on 13th July, to avoid clash with CPL and The Hundred

 Major League Cricket (MLC) to begin on 13th July, to avoid clash with CPL and The Hundred

Major League Cricket

The Major League Cricket (MLC) schedule has been out. MLC will begin its inaugural season on July 13, 2023. Some of the world’s best cricketers will play in the United States’ first professional franchise cricket league. 

The MLC matches begin on July 14 with a match between the Texas Super Kings and the Los Angeles Knight Riders. The names may be recognized because four of the six teams are owned by Indian Premier League franchises.

The MLC states 19 matches will be played at cricket-specific grounds in North Texas (Grand Prairie Stadium) and Greater Raleigh (Church Street Park). The first leg will be held in Texas, with the second leg moving to Morrisville. The MLC Playoffs, on the other hand, will take place at Grand Prairie Stadium. The MLC 2023 Final will take place on July 30.

Teams Participating in the MLC 2023

The Texas Super Kings(TSK) team is owned by Chennai Super Kings, Anurag Jain, and Ross Perot Jr. The team’s head coach is the former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming.  

Los Angeles Knight Riders is owned by Knight Riders Group. They are yet to announce their coach’s name. Delhi Capitals partly own Seattle Orcas. Their batting coach will be the former New Zealand batsman Ross Taylor, and they announced the former Protea all-rounder Johan Botha as their bowling coach.

MI New York is owned by Reliance Industries Ltd. They drafted Steven Taylor, all-rounder Nosthush Kenjige, current USA captain Monank Patel, wicketkeeper Shayan Jahangir, and fast bowler Kyle Phillip. Washington Freedom is partly owned by New South Wales and by Indian American entrepreneur Sanjay Govil.  San Francisco Unicorns, which is partly owned by Anand Rajaraman and Venky Harinarayan, share a partnership with Victoria.

The MLC has managed to draw some recognized cricketing stars in its first season. Jason Roy, Marcus Stoinis, Aaron Finch, Quinton de Kock, Mitchell Marsh, Anrich Nortje, and Wanindu Hasaranga are among those who have signed up for the competition. The organizers have also set a deadline, with the event finishing a few days before The Hundred. 

For the knockouts, the MLC will follow the IPL playoff format. The top four teams in the standings advance to the playoffs, which include the Eliminator, Qualifiers, and Final. 



Related post


Comments are closed.