Indian players to have been inducted to Hall of fame by Apex board

 Indian players to have been inducted to Hall of fame by Apex board

Virender Sehwag (Source: Twitter)

The international cricket board introduced the concept of Hall of fame for the first time on the 2nd of January in 2009. In Dubai, 55 members were inducted into the list in the inaugural edition of the nominations. These 55 players were a part of the Federation of International Cricketers’ Association (FICA) from 1999 to 2003. The list had the likes of Garry Sobers, W G Grace, Graham Gooch and many others. Since 2010, the inductees have been added every year in the Apex board’s award ceremony.

There has been a total of 109 inductees till now. Out of them, a total of 82 players are just from the West Indies, England, and Australia. From the remaining 27 members, 9 players have been from India. Some of the legends of the Indian cricket who played the sport from the 1940s till the 2010s have been in the list. Current players are not inducted into the elite club. In 2023, two players from India got inducted to the list. Here are the Indian players who have been inducted to Hall of fame till now.

9. Sunil Gavaskar 

Sunil Gavaskar
Sunil Gavaskar (Source: Twitter)

Sunil Gavaskar was one of the earliest inductees in the Hall of fame. Gavaskar was part of the 55 players that were inducted to the list in 2009. The former Indian batter was the first ever batter to score more than 10000 runs in Test cricket. Batting against some of the deadliest pacers of all time like Andy Roberts, Michael Holding, Colin Croft, Malcolm Marshall, Richard Hadlee, Dennis Lillee, Ian Botham, Bob Willis, Joel Garner, Jeff Thomson, Imran Khan, and others, Gavaskar averaged more than 51 in Test cricket, which is a sensational feat by itself.


Related post