Top Five Run Scorers of Indian T20 League 2008 And Where Are They Now?

 Top Five Run Scorers of Indian T20 League 2008 And Where Are They Now?

Gautam Gambhir (Photo by INDRANIL MUKHERJEE/AFP/GettyImages)

The year 2008 marked the first season of the Indian T20 League. Fans didn’t have any idea that the league will go on to become the best league in the world. Rajasthan won the tournament despite being one of the weaker sides. However, teams such as Hyderabad, Bangalore, Mumbai, and Kolkata struggled badly even though they had big-ticket players in their squad.

In this listicle, we will discuss about the top five run-getters in the inaugural season and what are they doing now.

Top five-run getters in the ITL 2008

Shaun Marsh 

The left-handed opening batter is the first-ever Orange Cap winner in the history of the league. Despite missing the first four games for Punjab, he went to amass 616 runs, averaging 68.44 and striking at 139.68 with one hundred and four fifties. He didn’t play the next season and only got to play four games in 2010. In 2011 and 2012, the Western Australian played 27 games and accumulated 840 runs. In the following season, he played eight games and scored 300 runs. In the next three seasons, he didn’t get enough opportunities. In 2017, he played nine games and the season proved to be his last. This year, he wasn’t part of the list of players for the mega auction. Marsh plays in BBL and is trying to make a comeback to the Australian team.

  Gautam Gambhir

The former India opener scored 534 runs in the inaugural season, which was the highest by an Indian and second-highest overall. He played for Delhi for the first three seasons. In the next two seasons, the left-hander had a bad patch with less than 300 runs each season. In 2011, he moved to Kolkata and kept leading from the front with the bat. Under his leadership, the team won the title in 2012 and 2014. In 2018, he returned to Delhi and played his last. Currently, he is a politician and works as a cricket expert.


Related post